Repossession license information for Florida

How do I become a repossession agent in Florida?

In order to apply for a Florida Repossession agent license and work as an agent, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Undergo a criminal history background check through the Florida Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); and
  • Complete a 40-hour course of required training. The training and exam may be administered by a certified repossession training facility.

Employees hired by a repossession agency to recover property must be registered with the Department of licensing and hold a Recovery Agency License known as an R License. To be eligible to apply for registration as a repossession agency employee, you must meet the following requirements:

In order to become a licensed repossession agent in Florida you must take a 40 hour course and exam. The classes and exam are very helpful as the repossession industry is a complex industry that is many times portrayed different then it really is. The only way to understand this is to actually work doing it and you will learn soon enough that the TV series are not real.

Then follow all of these steps to get you started. It is not a very simple journey but we all have to get through to make it in the field if we so choose. It is important to remember that acting as a repossession agent in Florida without a license is a crime and Florida takes it’s licensing requirements very seriously. Make sure you contact the state directly to find out if any new regulations have been added and if any changes have been made in the recent years.

Exam and Schooling involved

The best way to do it is to contact repossession companies in your area and ask them to sponsor you. Once you find someone to sponsor you, you must go to a school to learn the legalities which is either a few days or a week long. I went to a school in Tampa, FL you can find it here.

Once taking your exam, the state will give you a 2 year temporary license while under sponsorship. Make sure your repossession company logs your hours. The last thing you want is to find out after your full two years is up that they only logged you for 1 year of those.

You are able to cut the sponsorship in half by attending certain college classes with proof.

Once you have your license, Florida is a tough state to do repossessions, there are many regulations involved and the state will come by your office out of the blue, looking to write tickets for little things. Some of those things include logging personal property correctly, or sending out certified letters on time within a short period of time after the repossession. They will check all employee documentation, they will check all licensing. The regulations are changing constantly so a person needs to stay on top of it. If you follow the book correctly you should have no problems with fines or warnings.

As a repossession agent in the state of Florida you are governed under Chapter 493. You must be licensed by the state of Florida, you must not have any previous felony charges or you will be denied.